WHITES ONLY- Beauty Segregation

Long time no talk Kings & Queens!

I’ve missed you!!! I promise I’ll do better…But just because I haven’t posted, do not think for one second that I’ve forgotten about you. Every where I look I see blog posts. I’ve just got to get them out of my head and onto the page. Well, I’m glad you’re here and thank you so much for taking the time to read my blog. Even if it was just the title that caught your attention (lol). But that was the point!

As I was preparing my tresses for bed, I realized how many glorious hair products women (and men!) miss out on because they think that a product is only made for one ethnicity, gender or hair type. People with straight hair avoid products for curly folks. White people think Black hair care product will make their hair too greasy. Many African-Americans still rush to the “Ethnic Hair Care” section at Walmart and never bother to take a look on the other aisle because, “Those products are for White folks”. And that’s just not true! I’m not saying Pantene ProV’s Relaxed and Natural isn’t a good product. I’m just saying there’s probably one out there you’d like a whole lot better that may not be designed “just for you”.

Let me share some of my favorite products/brands that you’d probably be surprised to find in my bathroom. Who knows? Maybe you’ll venture out and get some new products to shake up your own ;-)

GARNIER FRUTIS

I can’t say enough about how UH-MAZING this product line is. So many of their products are staples in my hair care regimen. I love that majority of the products DO NOT contain mineral oil. Which if you didn’t know is horrible for your hair. All it does is sit on top and create a build-up. Say hello to a dull, life-less and weighed down ‘do! The molecules in mineral oil are far too large to penetrate your hair shaft. Therefore, it does a crappy job of moisturizing your strands.

I recommend Garnier Frutis Sleek & Shine Leave-In Conditioning Cream. It leaves my hair soft and smelling delicious. And here’s another shocker (And recent find!). The Garnier Frutis Style Curl Sculpting Cream-Gel is FABULOUS for smoothing down edges. You get extra hold without the crunch. I like to layer it on top of the Conditioning Cream and top it off with Garnier’s Sleek & Shine Anti-Frizz Serum. It gives great shine without weighing your hair down. And did I mention that all these products are extremely budget friendly?! SCORE.

Honorable Mentions:

  • The Garnier Frutis Triple Nutrition line will whip any dry and damaged hair back into shape.
  • I use Neutrogena Anti-Residue Shampoo when my hair needs clarifying without being stripped dry.
  • If you like to co-wash, Aussie Moist Conditioner is awesome. It’s supper cheap and comes in a 33.8 fl oz bottle that will take you a while to devour no matter how generous you are.

TIPS:

  1. If  you flat-iron your hair everyday and/or color it with the seasons, using a heavier conditioner made for African-American hair (even if you’re not) can really help to stave off the damage. Products made for ethnic hair tend to contain more oils and heavier conditioners. Try a product like Shea Moisture’s Deep Treatment Mask once a week to revitalize and bring life back to your hair. Then follow with your regular moisturizing or color protecting shampoo.
  2. Even if you’re hair isn’t dry & damaged. Buy those products anyway! It’s preventative and it will keep your hair in tip-top condition.
  3. Layer your products effectively. Oil and water don’t mix. Likewise, don’t layer a water based product over an oil based one! Apply the lightest water based product and seal all that moisture in with your heaviest oil based product.
  4. READ the ingredient list! I can’t stress this enough. Know what you’re putting on your hair. A product may say it contains Shea Butter, but is it the 2nd or 22nd ingredient on the list? The further up on the list it is, the more of that ingredient was used in making that product.

So tell me…What products do you use that go against the stereotypes? Have you noticed beauty segregation going on in an aisle near you?

Keep it Royal,

- J. Clarice

 

6 thoughts on “WHITES ONLY- Beauty Segregation

  1. Awesome article. We don’t even have ‘ethnic’ aisles here in the UK, though I can’t see it working to be honest, I don’t think people would like it plus the word ‘ethnic’ is awkward, everybody is ethnic, Black, Brown, White, Mixed and every other colour everybody has ethnicity. There has been a slow, very slow incorporation of beauty products that will work better for Black and Asian – any non caucasian – people but they are displayed with the regular products which I think is a better strategy. That way all races can benefit from trying different items.

    We do have a plethora of Black/Asian beauty shops though, in any multi-cultural area there are tons of them and I stopped by products from the high street when I discovered them because like you mentioned about ingredients, the ones in the Black/Asian stores tend to be a lot better. However, there are still plenty of crappy ones and I look for all natural vegan friendly, so I buy a lot online now or make my own. The Black/Asian – though anyone is welcome and I see White people in there all the time – shops are great because they’ve got tons of items you wouldn’t find on the high street, from hair care to skin care, to accessories and weave/extensions/wigs, make up etc the whole lot. They’re only referred to as Black/Asian because that market isn’t as catered to on the high street, like you mentioned some of the commercial brands are fine, but there isn’t much choice that will work and so these shops are seen as alternative and will cater to all the needs of a non-caucasian person. That will always be the way though if there’s a minority, the majority brands can’t fit everything on their shelves and will usually cater to the majority and any popular trends, so the minority will cater for themselves. Though I am surprised that even though non-caucasians are a minority in cities it’s different ratio and just like anyone else they spend their money as consumers so I’m surprised in cities at least that the incorporations of products better designed for them hasn’t been faster and greater. You’d find one beauty counter amongst all of them in a department store that has darker make up for example, maybe two, maybe, the same goes for the bigger pharmacies. But the smaller ones and regular sized ones, not much chance.

    Anyway, like I said before, great blog post.

    • Thank you so much for your comment! I definitely feel you. I find some of the best products are found in the lesser known specialty shops and websites. The thing that gets me about the large companies is that minorities are the #1 consumers in the haircare industry! Here in the U.S. , they’re starting to realize that (slowly but surely). Stores like Target are carrying high quality hair care products for people of “ethnic” backgrounds. To me, they’re LATE. Asians have known this for years. Most Blacks will tell you they go to the “Chinese Store” to get makeup, haircare and the like.

  2. I love aussie moist conditioner. I’ve been using that for about 6 months. Other products that I use that are not just for us include: herbal essence long term relationship and Paul Mitchell products. I know several people who won’t try products not specifically made for African American hair. I keep telling people to venture out.

    • You have to tell people or they wouldn’t believe it, lol! Aussie Moist has basically replaced my shampoo and I’ve heard so many good things about Herbal Essence LTR. I need to try it! I don’t have any Paul Mitchell in my regular routine, but I’d use it in a minute. He’s never disappointed. Thanks for the comment!

Leave a Reply

