Confession: I’m a LUSH

Fanatic Royals…I’m a LUSH fanatic,

Mind out the gutter people! *wink* Now I do like my wine every now and then, but it hasn’t gotten that bad. What I’m referring to is the UK-based company that specializes in fresh handmade cosmetics. I’m completely and utterly addicted and I plan on converting every face, body and hair care product I have.

Why am I so passionate about this company? Well for one, they’re facial cleanser is the ONLY product that has cleared my acne. Haven’t had a pimple in 2 months! And as you can imagine, being the toiletry lover that I am, I had tried EVERYTHING. Proactive, Murad, Cetaphil, All drugstore brands…None of them worked for my adult acne. I even made several attempts through the dermatologist.

As a teenager I had flawless skin. By the time I reached college I would on occasion be haunted by one or two cystic acne mountains around “that time of the month”. Fast forward to my Senior year of college into the last few years post grad and I was getting (non-cystic) acne on the lower part of my cheeks and chin like crazy. Oh and between my eyebrows. It was real sexy.

So you can imagine that what LUSH’s ‘Herbalism’ facial cleanser has done for me is nothing short of a miracle. I’ve been using these products since October and I can’t say enough amazing things about them! Here’s the facial products I’m currently using and why I love them so.

HERBALISM

Herbalism is a facial cleanser for oily and problem skin. LUSH’s facial cleansers are quite different from any cleanser that you’ve ever used. Instead of being in liquid form- you massage a preservative free, clay-based, herbal cleanser into your skin.. This one is specifically designed to help absorb excess oils and leave the skin looking less shiny, making it great for skin on the oily side. They put calming rose and chamomile in to soothe and ground almonds for a gentle exfoliation, helping clear up troubled spots.

Other Recommendations: Angels on Bare Skin (All skin types/Combination); Aqua Marina (Sensitive Skin/Dry)

TEA TREE WATER TONER

Tea Tree Water Toner is perfect for me because it doesn’t dry out or irritate my skin, yet it keeps breakouts away. Tee Tree oil is an antibacterial, antifungal and particularly effective against the types of fungi called yeasts. It controls spots with a mild antiseptic. They also added juniper berry and grapefruit waters to refresh and tone with natural oils.

Other recommendations: Eau Roma Water (Dry/Sensitive Skin); Breath of Fresh Air Toner (Mature/Dry Skin)

MASK OF MAGNAMINTY

Although it’s a bit messy to rinse off, this mask is divine. LUSH has many wonderful masks, but what I particularly love about this one is it lasts longer. LUSH’s products are so fresh that a majority of the other masks come in small pots that must be kept in the fridge and have a shelf life of about a month. The china clay and bentonite gel in this mask will pull the dirt from your pores, ground aduki beans and evening primrose seeds exfoliate surface skin cells, and peppermint oil will make you feel refreshed and minty.

Other Recommendations: Cupcake (Acne Prone Skin- I love this mask because it smells like mint chocolate!!; Brazened Honey (Dull/Tired Skin); Catastrophe Cosmetic (Sensitive/All Skin Types); Oatifix (Dry Skin Types); The Sacred Truth (Mature Skin Types)

SKINS SHANGRI-LA MOISTURIZER

Although LUSH moisturizers can be a bit on the pricey side, they are well worth it. My skin tends to be combination with a few drier areas. I like a semi-heavy moisturizer. Especially in the winter. It has a multitude of cold-pressed, skin-softening, organic, supremely nutritious oils and butters, plus antioxidant wheatgrass and toothed wrack seaweed to protect the skin from free radicals. And 27 shots of vodka in each batch! Ok, maybe I am a bit of a LUSH (hehe).

Other Recommendations: Imperialis (Combination Skin); Skin Drink (Dry Skin Types); Vanishing Cream Moisturizer (Oily/Acne-Prone Skin); Gorgeous Moisturizer (All Skin Types)

If there is a LUSH store near you, make sure you stop in and check out some of the products I’ve recommended. They’ll even give you some samples to try out if you’re not sure! That’s how I got hooked! But remember you can always shop online and order any of the products mentioned here. From my experience, you can’t go wrong!

Until Tomorrow,

J.Clarice

5 thoughts on “Confession: I’m a LUSH

  1. I’m a LUSH as well. I bought my first LUSH products last year when I came home (Atlanta). I loved it so much that I bought my mom a gift basket of LUSH products. I’ve converted her into a LUSH junkie as well.

    • Awww that was sweet! I know she loved it :-) I just went into the face products…I haven’t touched on the bath bombs, body melts, salt scrub and body moisturizers! When I first found out about LUSH, I think I went by everyday for a week! They’d give me samples and I’d come by the next day to buy it, lol. And the store smells delish!

  2. Pingback: Favorite Beauty Products of 2011 « Uptown Urban

  3. Pingback: July Favorites |

  4. Pingback: MUST HAVES: Keeping the New Year Simple | Uptown Urban

Leave a Reply

