Get Rid of Eczema/Dry Skin NATURALLY!

Here’s the scoop Royals,

I know that the first thing a dermatologist will do is prescribe you a medicated ointment for your Eczema or dry skin. And it may or may not contain steroids. (Say what??!) I love doctors, but most of the time they don’t point you in the direction of more natural solutions. They’ll say they steer clear of “Natural Remedies” based on a lack of FDA approval or insufficient evidence. But last time I checked, the FDA didn’t always have my best interest at heart.

So after being handed said prescription for my Eczema, I decided to research for myself and see if there was a better way. When it comes to synthetic vs natural remedies, one covers and one CURES. I don’t know about you, but I was looking for a permanent solution. Here’s how I cured my eczema and dry skin.

Switch Out Your Detergent, Lotions & Perfumes

Eliminated skin irritants all together. Stop using regular Tide, Gain and the like. Switch to a product like Tide Free that contains no dyes or perfumes. Kiss the Bath & Body Works scented shower gels and lotions goodbye. I stayed away from them for an entire year and then started introducing them every few months if I wanted to change it up. To this day, I never use them on a consistent basis. I stick to my sensitive skin Dove beauty bar. I suggest while you’re trying to heal your skin that you forget about trying to wear perfume or cologne. Just shower or bath everyday. That’s all the “smell good” you need.

Natural Oils Are Your Best Friend

This is what I truly believe cured my eczema. The method in which I moisturize my skin completely changed. I eliminated extremely hot showers (which strip your skin of much needed moisture) and I made sure to apply my products within 5 minutes of getting out the shower. Once you get out of the tub or shower, your pores stay open for 4-5 minutes MAX. After that time period, they close and everything you put on your skin from that point on will just sit on top. This is why many people find themselves dry by mid-afternoon.

To insure that your skin gets all the moisture it needs, have your oil of choice ready to apply as soon as you exit the shower or tub. Your towel? Leave it hanging right where it is! Until you get that oil on your skin, it’s your enemy. Apply the oil all over your body. And because you’re soaking wet, it’s not going to take a whole lot. Back then I used olive oil, but use whatever natural oil you like. Coconut and jojoba are excellent! If you buy a pre-made oil blend of some sort, make sure that there is NO mineral oil or silicones anywhere in the ingredients list.

Once you’ve finished applying the oil all over your body, take your towel and PAT (Don’t rub) yourself dry. You’ll see just how thirsty your skin has been because you won’t be greasy at all- just soft and glowing! Now for me, I like to take it a step further and seal all that moisture in with a creamy body butter made from simple ingredients like shea and cocoa butter. Again, I can’t stress enough how important it is to read the label. If you can’t pronounce it, you probably don’t need to put it on your skin. You want pure and natural products only.

Speaking of Stress

Eliminate it. Stress is a contributing factor to causing Eczema fare-ups. Run, do yoga, take 10-15 mins for yourself everyday…whatever it takes. Stress is the body’s #1 enemy.

Monitor what goes INSIDE your body

I hate drinking water. But I do it because my body needs it. Drink half your body weight in ounces and you should be good to go. For example, I weigh 120 lbs. So I should be drinking 60 oz of water a day. That’s three 20 oz bottles of water. One in the morning, one in the evening and one in the afternoon. Add lemon, limes or strawberries to yours if you just can’t stand the taste. Also try and incorporate more vegetables into your diet and stay away from fried food for a while. I really believe that helped to speed my healing process up.

Now I’m not a doctor or dermatologist, but I know these things work for me and completely eliminated my eczema and dry skin. And I believe they’ll help you too! Leave me a comment below if you plan on trying any of these techniques and let me know if they’re working for you!

Live Royally,

J. Clarice

3 thoughts on “Get Rid of Eczema/Dry Skin NATURALLY!

  1. I just recently started using coconut oil on my skin after showers. It has made a big difference in my skin. I am still working on drinking more water. I know my body,skin and hair needs it but it’s just a chore for me.

    • Coconut oil is a must. I use it everywhere…As a pre-poo in my hair, cuticle oil, lip balm and on my skin. And I feel you with the H20. Just keep at it girl. Carry it everywhere you go. It will be a habit before you know it ;-)

  2. Pingback: Beauty Mistakes To Avoid « Uptown Urban

Leave a Reply

