Favorite Beauty Products of 2011

Royaaaaaals!

I can’t believe that I’ve been so busy this year, that I never posted my favorite (must-have) beauty products from 2011. I’m telling you that you need some of this stuff in your life!! Just click on the picture to be linked to a place to buy it.

Salon Exotics Moroccan Argan Oil Deep Repair Mask by Hi.PRO.Pac

I found a sample of this at my local beauty supply for $1.69. Now I have tried a ridiculous amount of conditioners, but let me just tell you…This is my favorite protein conditioner! I put it in my hair after I shampoo or co-wash and I let it sit for about an hour. Oh how I wish I owned a steamer…The results would probably be out of this world. Not only is this conditioner better than many pricier conditioners like Ojon, Shea Moisture or Carol’s Daughter, but THE SMELL!!! It stays in my hair for days! The only downside to this conditioner is that I’ve only seen samples. I get about two treatments per pack, but I’m really hoping they produce it by the bottle soon. Otherwise I’ll have to start ordering it in bulk off of Amazon for $19.99.

Shea Moisture Organic Raw Shea Butter Moisture Retention Shampoo

Looking at my bottle, I have maybe two more washes left MAX. I love this stuff! It’s the only shampoo I’ve used that actually puts moisture back into my hair. My hair is so soft after using this stuff that I’m always tempted to skip conditioner all together. Another great thing about this product is that for most people it’s easily accessible.  You can usually find it at Target…If they have any. You might just want to order it online and save yourself the hassle of hunting it down. For $9.99, I think it’s reasonable for the quality product you get. I’d be willing to spend a little more to get it in a bigger bottle though. If you want to know more about this amazing hair care line, check out my review over at Fahrenheit 247!

One ‘n Only Argan Oil Treatment

If you’re looking for a more affordable alternative to the $41 Moroccan Oil favorite, this may be something to look into. The smell is awesome and it does a great job of adding shine and protecting my hair before I flat iron. A little goes a long way. The 3.4 oz bottle that I have lasted me almost an entire year. I put a dime size amount through my hair while it’s wet and let my hair air dry. When I’m ready to flat iron my hair, a pea-sized amount is all I need. You can find this at Sally Beauty Supply for $9.99 ($8.99 with a Beauty Club card).

Huggies Natural Care Baby Wipes

Don’t laugh at me…I’m serious!! These things go with me everywhere now. I use them to clean up messes, wash my hands when I can’t make it to a sink and (most importantly) to take all my makeup off at night! Almost every beauty company has makeup remover wipes. They’re convenient and a God-sent when you’re too tired to remove your makeup. But as great as they are, I feel they’re a little expensive. For about 15-20 wipes, you’re going to pay anywhere from $5-10 dollars. Say what?? Forget that…Huggies Natural Care wipes are fragrance/alcohol free and are packed with aloe/vitamin E. They may not be sexy, but you  get 72 wipes for about $2.35! Gentle enough for babies and gentle enough for my face. Remember to check your local paper for coupons!

LUSH Herbalism Cleanser, Tea Tree Water and Skin Drink Moisturizer

I’m not going to talk about them here because I just did a review, but I HAD to mention them because what they’ve done for my skin is so remarkable. They completely cleared my adult acne!! I fell asleep in makeup one night last week and got my first very small pimple in THREE MONTHS. Got back on my regimen and it’s already gone. I’m sold.

Phillips Milk of Magnesia, Original

No, I’m not constipated…I have an oily face! That’s right, I put Milk of Magnesia on my face. And if you suffer from excessive oil or get shiny throughout the day in your t-zone like I do, MOM will change your life. There are so many oil controlling products out there on the market and they can get quite expensive. For a fraction of the cost ($3.58 at WalMart), you can use MOM and get much better results. After you’ve cleansed and moisturized your face, take some MOM on a cotton ball or pad and swipe that all over your face where you get oily. Let it soak in for a few minutes and swipe away any white residue left behind with your fingers or a dab of water. If you apply it lightly, you shouldn’t have a problem. Now you can proceed with your makeup or just walk out the door. The MOM will act as a barrier and suck up any oil that is produced throughout the day. You can fill an empty eye makeup remover bottle to make traveling with it a bit easier. Just remember to shake it up first before you do!

The Body Shop Almond Body Butter

My boyfriend’s Aunt gave this to me for Christmas. Which was ridiculously ironic seeing as how I had just been out shopping for a body butter that day and settled on two different kinds from Bath & Body Works. Well needless to say, this trumps them both! This stuff is fantastic and I could kick myself for staying out of The Body Shop for this long. For some reason nothing ever really caught my eye and I just assumed they were similar to Bath & Body Works. They’re so not. They’re better! I love the scent because it’s not overpowering and it meshes well with any perfume I may be wearing that day. It’s got an ingredient list out of this world and I can see why his Aunt has been using it for the past 15 years.

Urban Decay Primer Potions (Original)

If you wear eyeshadow, then you should be wearing primer. I for one don’t want to apply my eyeshadow and then by the end of the day have it melt or crease. At the very least, you need to pick up the $1 eyeshadow primer by E.L.F. (Eyes Lips Face) at Target. BUT if you want one that’s really going to work and is (in my opinion and COUNTLESS others) THE BEST. Urban Decay’s Primer Potions are the way to go. I use the original because it dries clear and is the most versatile. At $20, this is a necessary luxury- I want to get my money’s worth.

Maybelline Baby Lips in Peach Kiss

I’m a lip gloss fanatic…ask anyone who knows me. Dr. OZ would host an intervention. But I just can’t help myself!! And although lipgloss is the bomb.com, it doesn’t always provide a lot of moisture for your lips. Well introducing the age of lip butters- a genius hybrid of lip balm and gloss. Revlon, Lorea’l and several others have all launched recent lip butter lines. The Maybelline Baby Lips line comes in a decent range of colors and is on the lower end of the price range. Peach Kiss is the only one I’ve tried from the line thus far, but it’s earned a permenant spot in my purse. It’s very moisturizing and leaves a very faint shimmer on my lips. Oh and it smells like peaches, which is just perfect for this Georgia girl!

M.A.C. Matte Powder Blush in BLUNT

I’ve heard about this blush non-stop for a little over a year now. YouTube Beauty Gurus swear by this stuff. They were right…It’s friggin’ awesome. It works on a variety of skin tones and creates the warmest glow. I think it’s a “Must-Have” for women of color. Don’t let the packaging fool you. It doesn’t look muddy or dirty at all when you apply it. I use it to contour and add more dimension to my face. It makes the perfect backdrop for any blush you want to use. Love it!!

Essie’s  nail lacquer in Dive Bar

I fist saw this color on my manicurist and feel in love. No joke- I was memorized and I just kept staring and staring and staring. I knew at that moment I had to have it. So I went on the hunt and after searching several stores, I finally found it at a Target. The color is unlike anything I’ve ever seen and no picture on Earth could ever do it justice.

Sally Hansen’s Hard as Nails Xtreme Wear nail color in  270 Lacey Lilac

Lilac nails were hot last year and I don’t see myself dropping the trend anytime soon. The color just looks too good on my skin tone! And what I love about Sally Hansen’s version is the color doesn’t have too much of a blue undertone and the formula last forever before chipping.

Seche Vite Dry Fast Top Coat

If you haven’t noticed, I’m a bit of a nail polish fanatic. At my worst I had almost 100 bottles. Don’t judge me! Contrary to popular belief, nail polish never goes bad. But that secret is for a future post. If you don’t get but one other nail polish top coat for the rest of your life make it this one. There is NONE better. I kid you not this stuff is amazing. It dries to the touch in 5 mins or less. I’ve hit my nails on something right after applying this stuff and it didn’t make a scratch. I think it’s bullet proof. The shine is unmatched and it prolongs the life of my nail color almost like a gel. I can paint my nails right before bed (like I often like to do) and know that when I wake up I’ll have a perfect smudge-free manicure. My first bottle was purchased online, but now I pick it up at Sally Beauty Supply.

Whew…What a list! So Royals- What were your beauty favorites of 2011? Please share and comment below! I love hearing about new products!!!

Live Royally,

J. Clarice

One thought on “Favorite Beauty Products of 2011

  1. 1. Garnie Fructis Conditioner, Covergirl shbdowalast,Chi straightener, cute jackets.2. Not much at all mine tend to last me a while so usually no more than 20$ a month.3. Yes, but sometimes I won’t go anywhere on the weekends so I’ll stay home not wear it4. Morning I go to the bathroom, brush my teeth, get breakfast, *try to exercise lol, do my makeup, then my hair, get dressed. Night wash my face, shower, brush teeth, go to bed.5. I was probably 12 but it wasn’t much makeup just powder and some shadow6.I buy mine b/c im 19 have my own job7.wet n wild base broke me out, neutrogena powder i forgot which kind though all i can think of now!8.Hmm toothpaste,hair spray,makeup, ummm if your counting each makeup item, shadow,liner,blush etc. then prolly, 15!9. Yes!10. Wash your face every night atleast, take good care of it, wash all of your makeup off!11. idk?

Leave a Reply

