Friday Fashion Crush: Zoe Saldana

It’s that time again Royals!

This Friday’s Fashion Crush is the gorgeous Zoë Saldana. You might remember her from a little movie called Avatar or her latest butt-kicking thriller Columbiana. One of the reasons I really love her style is because I can draw direct inspiration from her wardrobe. She knows how to embrace the skinny! Which is something I struggled with for a long time. Unless you put down ‘model’ as your occupation, being naturally thin doesn’t do you any favors in the confidence department. Society might aspire for their physique to look like the women in the glossy magazines, but they rarely like the women who naturally do. If you don’t have any weight issues, you’re often regarded as not being a REAL woman.

I remember growing up and having my feelings hurt on a regular bases by skinny jokes and comments like, “You need to eat!” Contrary to popular belief- Those statements are as hurtful as calling an overweight person fat! I remember being so paranoid, that I wouldn’t go to the restroom for at least 30 minutes after I ate a meal because I didn’t want anyone to think I was bulimic. And even though people don’t make those comments as much anymore, I still hear a bit of disdain in other women’s voices when they comment on how “model-esque” my figure is. But I’m finally embracing the skinny and have come to terms with the fact that I’ll more than likely never be curvy or “thick”. And you know what? That’s just fine with me.

So shout out to all the women like myself and Zoë. If God made you naturally thin, then be proud! Don’t let anyone make you feel less of a woman because you lack a certain hip-to-waist ratio. Well, I didn’t really mean to go off on a tangent like that-BUT you never know who your story might help. Whether you are skinny or you’ve been throwing around careless comments about your skinny friends…Remember that words are POWERFUL. Use yours to encourage and uplift.

Speak Royally,

J.Clarice

2 thoughts on “Friday Fashion Crush: Zoe Saldana

  1. Zoe Saldana is my fashion ICON! She is truly #1 on my list for all the reasons that you stated. I, too, struggled with being naturally thin up until my first year of college. I then decided that this was the way my body was created and since my parents are both petite themselves, I would probably never be bigger than I am. Love this post! I started shopping at Calvin Klein because her clothes mostly come from the Klein brands. Awesome fit and style for a gal like me.

    Great post!

Leave a Reply

