NEW: Maybelline NY Color Show Nail Lacquer (Review + Photos)

NEW cheap, quality nail polish Royals!

I have to say, that for the last 6 months Maybelline has been gunning for a piece of the market share that higher makeup brands like M.A.C. compete for all the time. And you all already know that I think that Maybelline is the leading low-end brand for mascaras. The buzz that Maybelline’s 24-Hour Color Tattoo eyeshadows made within the beauty world was beyond exciting. For many, they were a fantastic dupe for MAC’s infamous paint pots. They’re great worn alone or under eyeshadows to enhance their color.

While perusing my local Wal-Mart, I just so happen to look down and see a vibrant array of nail polishes on the bottom of an end cap. The second thing that caught my attention was the price ($2.97). I immediately started grabbing like a crazy person. Before I knew it, I had about a dozen of them, but settled for nine by the time I hit the register. The next day I only got one.  That shows improvement, no?

The Verdict

These nail polishes are FABULOUS! And not just because of the color selection or the price! The formula is absolutely divine. I found that a skillfully applied first coat can easily bring opaqueness. I didn’t experience any streaking (even with the white) and the brush worked perfectly. I think the packaging is sleek and easy to display in your growing collection. I can’t say enough great things! Now keep in mind, these bottles hold less polish than you may think. They hold 0.23 fl. oz., whereas OPI (0.5 fl. oz), Essie (0.46 fl. oz.) and China Glaze (0.5 fl oz.) all hold twice as much. But considering the price, I won’t complain.

The ‘Color Show’ Collection will be popping up at a Walmart, Target, Walgreen’s and CVS near you. The collection is massive and contains shatters, shimmers, metallics and glitters. As you can probably tell, I’m partial to cremes myself and can’t wait to get my hands on a beautiful pastel mint I spotted online.

Check out the photos below and let me know if you want me to post swatches of any of the colors. Like my nail design? It was my first attempt at gradient nails! Want a tutorial? Leave a comment below!

Paint Royally,

J. Clarice

{L to R: Chiffon Chic 160 // Pinkalicious 170 // Pink Shock 200 // Sweet Clementine 210 // Orange Fix 220}

{L to R: Iced Queen 310 // Chiffon Chic 160 //Pinkalicious 170}

{L to R: Fuschia Fever 300 //Sapphire Siren 360 // Shocking  Seas 370}

{Holding: Porcelain Party 380 (base coat)}

Leave a Reply

