May “Gossip Girl” Birchbox

My monthly Birchbox beauty subscription arrived Royals!

I was on the edge of my seat to get this May Birchbox. Why? They teamed up with one of my favorite shows…Gossip Girl! I like so many others, love watching Gossip Girl for the beauty and fashion. So when I heard they were teaming up with Birchbox, I just knew this box was going to be off the charts! I was so wrong….

Being the impatient online buyer that I am, I went onto YouTube to see what this month’s boxes were looking like. Video after video I was quickly disappointed and prayed to God that I wasn’t getting any of the boxes I was running across. By pure coincidence, I logged into my Birchbox account and saw that they post exactly what’s inside your box once it’s been shipped. This is awesome…but do you know how hard it’s going to be for me not to look every month? Jeez!

Anyway, my prayers were answered and I didn’t get any of the horrible boxes I saw on YouTube. Find out what I was sent below!

This is my FAVORITE item in the entire box. Stila’s Sparkle Waterproof Eye Liner in ‘FLASH’ is gorgeous and super easy to apply! The applicator is a felt tip pen and is perfect for creating thick and thin lines. Highly pigmented and super glittery, this eye liner gives a little extra glam to any eye look. Sweep it across your lash line or add it to your inner corners. It lasted all day and washed away with a bit of water. No need to scrub, it just peeled off in one continuous string. Check out the pic below!

With all the hype surrounding BB cream, I was super excited to get a mini tube of Dr. Jart’s BB Cream in my box. Apparently, this company is one of the original makers of this product! As you can see from the picture below, this is lighter than my skin tone. I plan on using it as a base under my concealer to get that highlighted Kim Kardashian look. The formula is smooth and I love that it’s good for your skin. I don’t know if  Birchbox has different shades, but the one they sent me is perfect for olive and tan skin tones.

I LOVE OJON!!! I’ve tried this brand once before and it was phenomenal. The only reason why I didn’t re-purchase it, is because it was way more than I wanted to spend for an everyday shampoo and conditioner. That said, buying their hair masks would totally be worth it. They leave your hair stronger, shinier and more manageable. I can’t wait to try this volumizing conditioner. I find that volumizing products give my hair body and movement that last for days.

This Twistband hair-tie looks weird, but definitely delivers on its promise. It doesn’t snag and holds my ponytail securely in place. Due to the green color and the “organic-ness” of its design, I think I’ll just use it for workouts…

This perfume surprised me. I didn’t expect to like it, but it’s very floral without being over the top. A great fragrance for summer, it gives the impression of sophistication. I probably won’t buy it, but I wouldn’t mind receiving it as a gift ;-)

I like to give people hand written notes and cards, so this will get used. Do I think this is an “EXTRA”? Uh…no. This isn’t a stationary subscription. I want beauty products only. It hasn’t happened to me yet *knock on wood*, but I really hate how Birchbox sends things like tea and Lara bars in their boxes. Hopefully they’ll start listening to their customers and cut that crap out.

All in all, I liked my box. I looked at the other possible boxes I could have gotten and I don’t think I did too bad. The only thing that could have made my box better was the Christian Dior mascara. So far Birchbox hasn’t disappointed me. Then again this is only my second box. True, last month’s box wasn’t great…but I was sent the expired BeFine moisturizer and got a 100 points ($10) credit for the mistake. I love how Birchbox handled that situation and I love the box I was sent for this month’s collaboration. So keep ’em comin’!!!

What did you get in your Birchbox this month? Did you love/hate it? Leave a comment below!

Subscribe Royally,

J. Clarice

3 thoughts on “May “Gossip Girl” Birchbox

  1. Lucky! I would’ve liked the Stila eyeliner lol. I ended up with box 11. Not bad, but I really would’ve preferred, say, box 6 (the dior samples!) ;)

  2. Pingback: First USA Glossy Box (Non-Sponsored) « Uptown Urban

Leave a Reply

