Gradient Nail Tutorial

What better time to release this tutorial than during the hazy days of Summer Royals?

This gradient nail design reminds me of a beautiful sunset at the beach! I’m excited because this is my very first nail tutorial. I didn’t have the right camera, but hopefully you get the idea :) If you try this out, be sure to head over to Uptown Urban’s Facebook Page and upload a picture. I’d love to see how yours turned out!

WHAT YOU’LL NEED

 2 to 3 nail polishes of your choice (I used two), top coat, cosmetic sponge, acetone & small brush/cuticle stick for clean-up!

STEP ONE

Apply the lightest nail polish shade to your nails. I used Sinful Color’s ‘Hazard’ (orange). I only needed one thick coat. Allow it to get about 75% dry or it will smudge.

STEP TWO

Take a cosmetic sponge and cut it down to match the width of your nail. Don’t worry about the length. You’ll need something to hold on to. Paint stripes across one end. Go over each strip at least 3 times to get a good color payoff. The sponge soaks up a lot of polish!

STEP 4

Gently apply the sponge to the bottom half of your nail. Make sure the darkest shade is being applied to the very tips. If you’re not getting the color payoff you want, go ahead and apply more polish to the sponge! Repeat on each nail.

 

STEP 5

I wanted my tips to be extra vibrant so I sponged my darkest shade, ‘Purple Panic’, by China Glaze on just the very tips of my nails. This step is optional, but I love the effect!

 

STEP 6

Take a small brush (I used an ELF eyeliner brush from Target- $1), dip it in acetone and clean up around the edges of each nail.

 

 

 

STEP 7

Top your design off with your favorite top coat. I love ‘Out The Door’ super fast drying top coat. You can purchase it at Sally’s Beauty Supply.

 

ENJOY YOUR SUNSET GRADIENT NAILS!!!

 

 

 

 

Paint Royally.

J.Clarice

3 thoughts on “Gradient Nail Tutorial

Leave a Reply

